Building the SUDU


SUDU crew
December 17, 2010, 1:34 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I always write a post to thank my crews for their work – but in this case, I would like to thank them individually.  They are my most honored invisible laborers and heros of the SUDU project.

Geri:


Chamba:


Dibrou:


Soloman:


Dawit:


Gemberu:


Tesfaye:

Abraham:


Abush:


Abinet:
Daily laborer crew manager


My core team pictured above, however, were not the only workers on the SUDU.  There was a crew of 30 daily laborers that each at times participated in the the full scale construction – laying foundations, rammed earth walls, the ringbeam, excavating, sifting soil, pressing tiles, and so on – and who each contributed enormously.  I am afraid that I do not remember all of their names – and it is only recorded, to my knowledge, in Amharic, on the lists of Abinet and in his informal networks of Ethiopian laborers looking for work.





Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

